Aurora, Nebraska August 26, 2008

A meeting of the Mayor and Council of the City of Aurora, Nebraska, was convened in open and public session at 7:30 p.m. on August 26, 2008 at the City Hall. Present were Councilors: Jack Payne, Bruce Ramsour, Dottie Anderson, Dick Phillips and Paul Shaneyfelt. Mayor Marlin Seeman conducted the meeting. City Officials present were City Administrator Mike Bair, City Attorney Ross Luzum, Police Sergeant Ryan Dummer, Street Superintendent Mike Eberhardt, Water/Sewer Commissioner Rick Melcher, WWTP Superintendent Greg Meier, Librarian Jan Thomsen, Fire Chief Tom Cox and Clerk/Treasurer Barbra Mikkelsen.

Notice of said meeting was given by publication in the Aurora News Register on August 20, 2008. Notice of meeting was simultaneously given to the Mayor and all members of the Council and a copy of their acknowledgment of receipt of notice and the agenda is attached to these minutes. Availability of the agenda of this meeting was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Mayor and Council. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Mayor Seeman stated "AS PRESCRIBED BY LAW A COPY OF THE NEBRASKA OPEN MEETINGS ACT IS POSTED BY THE DOUBLE DOORS IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS."

MINUTES:

Councilor Shaneyfelt moved to approve the minutes from the August 12, 2008 meeting. Councilor Anderson seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Ramsour, Anderson, Phillips, Shaneyfelt and Payne. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Helzer. The motion carried.

PETITIONS, COMPLAINTS, COMMUNICATIONS:

REPORTS BY OFFICERS, BOARD, COMMITTEES:

Councilor Ramsour moved to approve Pay Application No. 2 for Water Tower Repainting and Safety Modification Project to Maguire Iron, Inc. for \$52,493. Councilor Payne seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Anderson, Phillips, Shaneyfelt, Payne and Ramsour. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Helzer. The motion carried.

Councilor Shaneyfelt moved to approve Cost Breakdown Form No. 24 for the Historic Lighting Project to JEO for \$1,881.18. Councilor Phillips seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Phillips, Shaneyfelt, Payne, Ramsour and Anderson. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Helzer. The motion carried.

Dave Ziska of Olsson Associates reviewed the acceptance of Harvest Drive and Mankin Street. He stated that the warranty period would be 2 years from the date of acceptance. Councilor Phillips moved to accept Harvest Drive and Mankin Street. Councilor Ramsour seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Phillips, Shaneyfelt, Payne, Ramsour and Anderson. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Helzer. The motion carried.

Councilor Ramsour moved to approve Resolution 08-15 approving Hamilton County Local Emergency Operations Plan-LEOP. Councilor Shaneyfelt seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Shaneyfelt, Payne, Ramsour, Anderson and Phillips. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: The motion carried and the following resolution was declared passed and adopted.

RESOLUTION 08-16

Councilor Ramsour offers the following resolution and moves its adoption, seconded by Councilor Shaneyfelt:

RESOLVE: That in order to provide for a coordinated response to a disaster or emergency in Hamilton County, the City of Aurora and other cities and villages in Hamilton County, the Aurora City Council deems it advisable and in the best interests of the community and the County to approve the attached Hamilton County Local Emergency Operations Plan.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 26 DAY OF AUGUST, 2008.

ATTEST:

Baulra City Clerk

. Uneman OF AU miklelen

Mayor Seeman stated that as directed by Resolution 08-03 passed and adopted on February 26, 2008 a Sales Tax Expenditure Review Board was being set up. He then presented his list of appointments. Councilor Phillips moved to approve the Mayor's appointments to the Sales Tax Expenditure Review Board. Councilor Anderson seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Payne, Ramsour, Anderson, Phillips and Shaneyfelt. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Helzer. The motion carried and the following individuals were appointed to the Sales Tax Expenditure Review Board.

Sue Mitchell, Tina Oswald, Curt Wolff, Mike Herzberg, Glen Beran, Scott Grafton, Dana Thompson, Brad Bangs, Amy Jones, Dan Ziegler

A budget review session was held with the Department Heads.

MISCELLANEOUS:

ADJOURNMENT:

Having completed all items on the agenda, and there being no further business to conduct, Mayor Seeman declared the meeting adjourned at 9:16 p.m.

ATTEST:

mikkelsen City Clerk



rlen Lbeman